CIO of the Year Awards

Crain's Special Section Crain's Announcement Winners Press Release

Congratulations to our 2020 winners!


Linda Jojo


Edward Wagoner

Large Enterprise

Bobbie Byrne


Ed Rybicki

Large Corporate

Nicole White


Madhu Reddy

Public Sector

Tracy Harrington

2020 Keynote

Pat Gelsinger, CEO, VMWare

Pat Gelsinger became CEO of Vmware in September 2012, bringing more than 35 years of experience in a variety of technical and executive leadership roles. Under his leadership, VMware expanded from its core strength in virtualization to become a recognized global leader in cloud infrastucture, enterprise mobility and cyber security. During his tenure, Pat has nearly doubled the size of the company.

Leadership Award Recipient

Paul Martin, SVP & CIO, Baxter International

Paul E. Martin is senior vice president and chief information officer for Baxter International. Martin joined Baxter in 2011 from Rexam PLC, the U.K.-based packaging manufacturer, where he held the position of group chief information officer. During his 11-year tenure with Rexam, Martin served in a variety of key senior management positions, including vice president and CIO, Beverage Can Americas, and head of information technology for American National Can (acquired by Rexam PLC). Prior to Rexam, Martin held IT leadership positions at the CIT Group, BNSF Railway and Frito-Lay Inc.

Explore 20 years of CIO ORBIE finalists and winners.